Skip to main content
Press Releases

One Dark Night…, A Rock Symphony of the Macabre

By September 9, 2019No Comments

CLEVELAND, OH (September 12, 2019) – One Dark Night…, A Rock Symphony of the Macabre, returns to the Akron Civic Theatre on Saturday, October 19, 2019 at 8:00pm. A terrifying orchestral exploration of all things evil and dark from the world’s greatest composers reimagined through the guitar of rock maestro Neil Zaza. This symphony of fear mixes dark, powerful arrangements of macabre classical masterpieces by Beethoven, Mozart, Chopin, Prokofiev, Saint-Saëns and others with the fury of a rock band and orchestra. Zaza accompanied by a string orchestra and a rock band will take audiences on a musical journey. The visually impressive stage set, light show and multi-media screens tell the evil tale of the monster within and add a whole new way to experience the music. Never before has Halloween and the season of the supernatural come to life like this!

Verb Ballets will make a guest appearance on the show performing the critically acclaimed Adagio Reimagined and two new choreographic works by Antonio Morillo and Daniel Cho. Choreographer Sabatino Verlezza choreographed Adagio Reimagined to Zaza’s rock score of Albinoni’s Adagio in G Minor. Verlezza was a soloist with the May O’Donnell Dance Company and served as co-artistic director/choreographer of Dancing Wheels. Verb Ballets dancers Morillo and Cho will bring visualize to the fiery interpretation of Zaza instrumental guitarist known for a keen melodic sense and technical fury. Together these artists will build upon these classic selections to demonstrate technical virtuosity with rock style that fit the dark spirt of the Halloween season.

The evening will feature a special appearance by the legendary Tim “Ripper” Owens. This Grammy nominated American hard rock singer from Akron first gained attention as the lead singer of Judas Priest and then Iced Earth and Yngwie Malmsteen. Tim currently tours the world as a solo artist and performs as the lead singer for the band Charred Walls of the Damned with Richard Christy plus he also sings with Dio Disciples. With his incredible tour schedule the stars have aligned to join Zaza on stage in One Dark Night.

Never before has Halloween and the season of the supernatural come to life like this! One Dark Night…, A Rock Symphony of the Macabre, on October 19, 2019 at 8:00pm at the Akron Civic Theatre. Single tickets are $25-35 an exclusive $75 VIP ticket includes a post meet and greet with a signed poster.  Tickets can be purchased by calling the Akron Civic Box Office at 330-253-2488 or online at The Akron Civic Theatre is located at 182 South Main Street Akron, Ohio 44308.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.